Collaboration Technology

Virtual Orientation

Orientation2 2013Slide1a

Last year I created an orientation video (part 1 & 2) with Photo Story.   Comprehension questions were embedded throughout the video.  During the first 2 weeks of school,teachers presented this video to each of their extended homerooms.  It worked out fantastically for my first year as a solo librarian, however, I can’t show the same thing to the upperclassmen as last year, so I updated last years detailed introduction, and plan to post it on the student wiki home page  (http://mariehollandlibrary.wikispaces.com/) to be shown to the 6th grade only. For the upper 2 grades, I took out a GoAnimate Individual Account for $4.50 per month and created a real cool virtual tour.  Next year I will make a more specific piece just for the 8th graders and show this year’s virtual to next year’s grade 7, which is simply a one-part summary of the grade 6 version.  For 8th grade I am thinking that I need to focus on the necessary skills they will need to learn to ensure success in high school.  I might be able to get it done before September, if I really get inspired.  The new virtual is on the resource blog (http://community.nn.k12.va.us/mhlibrary/.  I just need to add credit for use of the lyrics to Robin Thicke’s song, “Blurred Lines.”

Big thanks to the fabulosity of school librarians on Slide Share for sharing their orientation Powerpoints:  The Unquiet Library Buffy Hamilton, 2009; and Lawrence Road Middle SchoolPaula Trapani, 2010.

 

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

Powered by: Wordpress
Skip to toolbar